What kind of wax I can inject into a mould and reshape after?

Hello! This is my first time posting here so please forgive me in advance if I make any mistakes. I have these tiny delicate bones I would like to make a mould out of. But these are straight bones and I would like to shape them easily and someone told me it would be easier to do that in wax before casting in metal. So my question is what type of wax I could use to inject inside the mould and then maybe try to easily shape it afterwards using heat. Can I simply use hard wax? Also I don’t have a wax injector and was thinking of doing that with a syringe at first if you have any tips for that too that would be amazing!

You could use pretty much any injection way and model it with a bit of help from a hair dryer. Get a way injector, there’s not much of any other way really.

With a string, it would harden too much. before you could get it pulled in and injected out a small opening. Wax hates to move as it starts crystallizing. AND, the melting point of a string would be quite low. However, In the book “Cheap Trick For The Jeweler’s Bench, ( Lewton-Brain) has a wax injector idea that would allow you to heat the wax into the metal “syringe” itself. It would require heavy gloves if using jeweler’s wax because it melts anywhere from 150 deg F -235 def F. And hot wax sticks to skin and keeps burning! A wax injector machine is a safer way to do it. I make my molds from silicone caulking and inject them with the smallest one RioGrande sells, paired with a small auto airbrush pump from Harbour Freight. Works great, especially since I accidentally pinched and cut my gasket the first time using it and it allows a bit of air leak which in this case gives me greater control. When I use a whole gasket, the pump is a bit overpowered.

1 Like

That was supposed to say with a syringe. Not string. Autocorrect is going to get turned off again.