To cut or not to cut brass pattern plates for use in the rolling mill

I just purchased some nice brass pattern plates. I’ve only patterned with natural materials, found stuff and paper so far, but I’m pretty new at it. This is more of a survey than a question:

Do you cut your pattern to match the metal for your project or simply roll the precious metal with the intact pattern plate? Why or why not?

I’d like to get as much use out of my patterns as possible naturally. Cutting them limits the sizes of metal I can roll with the same pattern in the future, yet cutting will make more pieces I can use for jewelry. What to do? My thoughts were to cut my required size off the long edge (the patterns are 6 x 4-ish) thereby preserving a 6 inch long pattern in case I want to make a bracelet in the future. Thoughts?

I might be overthinking this!

There is no need to cut your brass plate.

The following are made-up numbers as an example.

Let’s say your brass plate is 3mm thick and the metal you want to emboss is 1mm thick. Say you want to emboss a piece that is only 1 inch square.

If you set the gap between the rollers at 3.5mm and put your small piece of metal on the plate, then you will get an impression, and there will still be clearance between the rollers for the parts of your 3mm thick brass plate that has no metal on it.

I like to make a sandwich of clean 90 lb. paper to fit around an embossing plate and metal just to be sure of protecting the rollers. This isn’t necessary if you clean your plate and metal to remove any grit, but the clean paper doesn’t hurt, either.

Neil A

3 Likes