Soldering with oxy/acetylene

Hi all! I’ve been in the trade for 47+ years. I’ve used a Smith’s Little Torch oxy/acetylene for the last 30+ years. I follow several “aspiring” groups on Facebook and whenever the subject of torches comes up we get “oh, acetylene is so dirty”! “It leaves my metal dirty”! The one that I really have an issue with is “you can’t solder platinum with oxy/acetylene”! I beg to differ. I’m not a “fine jewelry fabricator” although I have done some. I fabricated one of my buckles in platinum - almost 4ozs., as well as other pcs. Overall I’m very happy with with oxy/acetylene. I know other jewelers that are not only happy with how it performs daily as well as for platinum. It takes a little thought to realize that “cracking” the oxy when lighting eliminates the black “floaties” as does turning the gas off first.
I’m wondering how many jewelers out there are happy with oxy/acetylene and how many use it for fabricating platinum?

1 Like

I have no experience with platinum and have only used o/a torches a couple times, but the more experienced artist who taught me to use those torches told me if things were getting dirty or sooty like that, it was because I didn’t have the gas adjusted right. As someone who has largely learned in isolation without interactive instruction, I always wonder if things like this are a result of someone not knowing what they don’t know. Like you might know all the basics of something but miss a detail or nuance, and just not know it can be any different. Good to know that these torches can work for the full range of precious metals, though! I’ve got no plans to try platinum, but who knows, down the road I might have reason to. And knowing I don’t have to invest in a whole different fuel system makes that idea more accessible to me.

Hi,
It’s been a while since I posted here (but I watch every day). As a platinum fabricator with 60 years of experience…(now I feel really old), here is my opinion.