Playing with gold

I’d like to work more with high karat gold, but it’s not in the budget (yet!). This is my compromise, my first experiments using 24k Accent Gold with argentium. (Tourmaline, topaz, natural zircon, garnet, rhodolite garnet).

5 Likes

Congrats! Keep going! Gold scares the hell out of me still lol. But I know when I melt it into the silver, that’s my tuition in the school of self taught smithing :laughing:

3 Likes

I have been fortunate to have enough bits and pieces of gold lying around or given to me (broken chains, lone earrings, etc) that I have used quite a lot of recycled gold, I bought a testing kit so everything I use is 14k or better. By chance I came into the possession of a 1/2 oz gold coin (long story) and have used that to raise any 10k to 14, and I’ve bought gold wire for some things - I really like gold & silver together. There’s definitely a learning curve to adding gold pieces to silver, you have to be pretty careful not to “lose” the gold. Anyway, I really love the colour of 24k, but it’s a bit pricey for me, so I was pleased to discover Accent Gold. It’s sold by the gram, as dust (basically), just add distilled water, paint it on and fire, and that one gram, though not cheap, goes a surprisingly long way. It’s a thicker layer than plate, and while it would eventually wear off on the parts of a ring that rub, if you essentially recess it or put it in places which get no wear it’ll be fine. Another arrow in the quiver :slight_smile:

6 Likes

(When I posted the pics I decided I didn’t like the plainness of the hoops so I’ve textured them, they look a lot better now).

1 Like

Thank you for the accent gold tip! That’s lovely

4 Likes

Best priced source I found was Rio. There are some good videos on YT.

3 Likes

Don’t forget Keum Bo! 24K fabulousness. Not hard to do. It hasn’t the precision of painting that the liquid golds have, like Accent gold, but it has a big impact.

8 Likes