Microscope

Hello,

I recently purchased a AmScope microscope SM-6TZ-80S-5M-EUL-3P, 3.5X-90X microscopes which includes both barlow lenses 0.5X and 2X based on a recommendation from the supplier.

( I understand it is not the top brand to go for, for micro stone setting / engraving. However, currently all my jewellery making is self taught & part time so spending upwards of £2000 was not quite feasible, that being said I have only just received it and I can still return if not fit for purpose)

I have set the microscope up but encountered an issue with the lens having to be so close to the work piece to focus that I can’t get my hands in to work on it. I have tried both single and a combination of both lenses that were supplied…

To get the distance between the work piece and the lens would that just require new lenses ( any idea which magnification ) or is the model of microscope I ordered just not fit for purpose?

I appreciate any advice, please go easy on me, as previously stated, I am a hobbyist and not been to microscope school!!

Thanks always,
Pippa

hi Pippa,

i did some posts with links explaining magnification…lemme see if i can find em…olease holg…

julie

1 Like

Quick question - do you have the .5x lens on it? You’ll want to start with that.

I have tried that alone, and combine with the 2x and the furthest I can get away from the work piece is around 100mm

To get my hand and tools between there the distance needs to be much greater

This is the spec I purchased, as you can see the working distance says 200mm and I cannot gain that at all

I am curious if you have reached out to the vendor? I had a great experience when I bought my microscope getting custom support but I’m guessing different companies are different.

Adjusting the diopters is fiddly. You’re going to get the maximum distance when you have it zoomed all the way out and the .5x lens is attached.