Guillotine shear

I am just a hobbyist, none the less, I spend at least 30 hours/week in my jewelry shop. A lot of my time is spent sawing pieces from sheet for shanks, bezels and settings and then filing to the dimension line. Its great practice for sawing and filing, but very time consuming. My sheet stock often has no more truly straight edges so I usually need to file both sides of a cut.
Would a guillotine shear, like the Durston 6" (I want to be able to cut 1.5 mm thick) truly make this as quick of a process as it seems?

1 Like

Especially if you’re willing to invest in a brand like Durston, it really does. Put the sheet in, line it up, pull the handle down, and you’re done. I was advised to practice on some cheap metal like copper to get good at lining things up exactly how I want first, but as far as speed- absolutely no beating it. You may or may not feel the need to clean up the edge afterwards, but it will be a lot closer to done than with a saw or even an airline snips. I don’t own a bench shear yet but it is very, very high on my list and one of the tools I happily pay admission to my local makerspace to access in the meantime.

Look at the open throat shears at Woodward Fab and other suppliers. There is a learning curve, but the shears are a lot less expensive. Once you cut, run through your rollong mill and you are good to go…Rob

1 Like

Thanks ifutzwithfire and rmeixner. I did buy an open throat shear but sent it back. It (or me) really struggled with 1.2mm thick stock and I was unable to get a straight cut.It had a hold down but it wasn’t strong enough to prevent movement as the blade travelled along the cut. I’ll probably order a 6" Durston guillotine very soon. I’d rather have the 12", but I just cant fit it in the space I have and my wife refuses to give me her parking spot in the garage :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Cheap Metal Guillotine Shear