Five months into my silversmithing self-taught journey - Now onto graving. Oh god, what have I gotten myself into!?

Being self-taught is about 10,000 times more difficult than I thought it would be.

I posted here one time about three months ago when I was just beginning to learn to solder for the first time. It all worked out and really all I was doing wrong was not keeping the solder heated long enough! I took the heat away before it could actually flow. Anywho, I’m actually pretty good at it all now and am quickly wanting to advance to the techniques I really dream of doing - graver settings.

I’m determined to make a business out of this one day - but I deeply realize the total requirement in learning all techniques so that many techniques can be deployed during a single project. I’m now too bored with the basic bezeling techniques.

I am finding out the hard way that it isn’t easy to locate very good tutorials on graving. My prime interest is that I want to learn how to do the basic beading setting techniques such as bright cuts, pave, and so on. I purchased a good “Starter” pack by selecting four common graver styles (round, flat, and two different onglettes) plus the handles - I soon realized after they arrived how hard this was going to be just getting them prepared. I actually have some amazing college-level books describing how to go about preparing them - but its mostly text without real guidance visually. It can be difficult to visualize in your mind what a master jeweler is trying to say without good pictures or video.