Engraving/Cutting Machine

I am looking for a machine that can cut sheets of metal (14k gold, sterling silver, and gold filled) into small shapes and intricate designs. I am completely new to this type of technology, so I’m not exactly sure what it is I’m looking for or the correct terminology to use. Possibly a laser cutting machine? Does anyone have something along these lines that they have used to cut out their own designs from sheet metal, that they can recommend? Thank you so much for your advice and help in pointing me in the right direction!

1 Like

Hi,

great query! i cannot wait to hear comments!

so, you would use computer generated designs…?

on a related note, another option would be a hydraulic press…and pancake dies, silhouette dies etc plus much much, much more…

julie

1 Like

I met some folks in Vancouver who use a Trotec Fiber laser for cutting shapes out of precious metal sheet.

Like Julie said. Start with a saw and learn to cut your own. When you have some shapes that you want to duplicate, learn to cut pancake dies from 16 gauge soft steel plate and, using a hydraulic press, cut them out. Google Dar Shelton and Kevin Potter for a lot of information on pancake dies. If you want a lot of them, take a look at Kevin Potter’s FSS die system. I just bought one and they work great. He is limited to the shapes he can offer, but that could change. I am fairly sure that there are people who will make stamping dies for you and do the stamping. There are some small numerically controlled lasers that you can buy, but I am not sure how thick a piece of metal they will cut. Good luck…Rob

3 Likes

While I do not disagree with the value of learning to use the saw and any other manual technique.

New technology and techniques will open new opportunities and alleys of approach.

Each have their pros and cons.
So I can not see anything wrong with using a laser cutter for intricate shapes, if you have access to it and can afford the price premium.