Downsizing ring with shared prong melee

So I have sized all sorts of rings in my career, but the newer bands set shared prong diamonds are giving me all sorts of problems when I down size them. As in the melee loosing and falling out. Since I work in a shop that offers “while U wait” repairs, this can be a bit of a nuisance to put it mildly. “Hang on, almost done, just gotta fish Mr.s Smith’s canhardlys out of the ultrasonic!” Any suggestions?

You gotta be kidding me. First thing, this isn’t putting on some new heels on a pair of shoes. You can be working on a piece of jewelry worth several thousand dollars or more “While-U-Wait”? Why would any sane person do this. The risk of anything going wrong is on the craftsman. the situation you are describing is impossible. You have to go over the entire ring and tighten individually. If the ring has to go down more than a size, I won’t do it, the seats of the stones are stretched too much and eventually, you are going to get a comeback. I recommend creating a liner in that case. And not while you wait!

Actually, thank you. I’ve been trying to explain to my co-workers that some jobs should NOT be done quickly. I am more than happy to do things like chain solders and simple sizing jobs,but please,if you want good results and happy customers, some things need to be left so I can do them properly. And sometimes you just have to say “sorry, no.”

It’s a real problem. So many pieces come straight from the manufacture poorly set with not enough metal securing the stones. A bench scope really helps with this. You have to check and tighten them all before, during and after sizing. It’s a huge pain but you don’t lose any that way.