Die for producing logo jewellery

Greetings from Vancouver Island!

I have made logo themed jewellery for many years and using a photo process have had Magnesium / Zinc metal plates made to start the process.

Thinking about possibly having a laser etched die made to increase the depth and detail.

Has anyone used this process and if so any recommended business’s to make them?

Also cad/cam is a possibility … Another process I have had zero experience with

Thank you for any help or suggestions

TerryV

Many “logo” pieces have been cast from metal molds made on Gorton P1-2 precision pantomills. This includes things like high school class rings, military etc. With an experienced operator and a high pressure injector crisp, professional pieces can be done. I’m sure that today CAD/CAM could be used to cut molds. The problem is shooting the wax. I know that there are manufacturers that have that ability but don’t think they do outside work.
Bench top plastic injectors are ideal but pricey. I use an open top wax injector with hand pump. That and creative venting can make it work for small runs.

1 Like

Phil … Thank you … I have a nice little hand pump wax injector as well, but honestly it does not give me waxes that are sharp enough for my liking so I currently use a 2 dimensional mold produced from the printing magnesium die and use dental inlay wax to make each piece. Its a slow process and though results are decent, I still reject 1/2 the waxes I make because of deformities like bubbles in the surface.
I sure would like to find a better process… Thanks again… Terry

Hi Terry,