Borax issue

I’m a beginner, and recently switched to using a borax cone as flux. I keep the dish clean, use distilled water with it, and always use a clean brush to apply it, but I’m having a lot of trouble with solder flow. When I apply heat, the flux looks dirty as it bubbles up and I have so much trouble getting the solder to flow that it ends up causing firescale and heat damage to my silver. I make sure the silver and the solder are clean as well, I would appreciate any ideas you all may have!

I believe that the borax you are describing is simply a barrier flux and you should also be using a solder flow flux as well. I like to dip my solder pallion in the solder flow flux, place it, heat the piece with a lamp to dry the flux, and then add the borax flux. I hope this helps.
Bernie

I use Handi Flux on silver soldered joints. It provides a good and fairly long lasting O2 barrier. Borax works on gold. You do have to make sure that your joints are tight, the solder, metal and soldering pad are clean and you use enough heat. The quicker you can heat up to the solder flow point without damaging another area and get out the better. I will also coat the entire piece with a Boric acid/alcohol mix to prevent fire scale. You will sometimes get a glassy deposit around the joint after you solder and pickle. Don’t try to file or grind it away. Put the piece in water and let it soak for a while, the glassy deposit should dissolve in the water. This is a good time to take a break. Good luck…Rob

2 Likes