Belt buckle advice requested

I’m thinking of making a sterling silver belt buckle for my husband for Christmas. What gauge sheet could I use? 16-18? I’ll likely do a border around the edges and a pictorial overlay in 26 or 28g sheet. Also, what should I use to prevent tarnish? I want to patina it as well. Thanks in advanced!

Morning Rachael,
Now, your idea for your husband is lovely.
Im a pro buckle maker and have been for some 45 yrs and know whats needed .
Id might be prepared to help you with this project but id need answers in full from you to a lot of questions.
Also, you would have to do exactly as I tell you, because of your limited metal working experience.
This buckle will be for ever, even in daily use so theres no alternative but to make it a product better than most buckles out there.
All my buckles and the leather attached to them will take the weight of the wearer. whether its a ladies evening dress or a mans industrial wear type.
Await your reply.
Ted.

1 Like

I’m very excited about the outcome now! :slight_smile: I have limited funds, but hopefully I have the supplies on hand (heavy gauge sheet, I do not. Largest is 22g but not big enough for. Belt buckle), but Rio Grande is my go to supplier.

So what info do you need?

Hi Rachael,
So, lets start at the beginning, no questions yet!
A belt in its entirety is comprised of 3 parts

1. the leather strap,
    2.the buckle back, with its fittings to connect to the leather,
  2. the front which is the decorative part.
    Lets look at no 1 first
  3. in your case you need to decide on the leather width, because it has to go through all of your husbands trousers
  4. its length, which will be the same as belts he uses.
  5. its thickness. This is best from leather thats off of the center back of beef cattle and oak bark tanned and preservative filled… 3/16ths in thick will last some 20 yrs.