Arc welding with stones in place

Hi!

I have a natural alexandrite set in an 18k engagement ring I’m making for my partner (yay!) and I’m almost finished. Unfortunately, as I was doing some final adjustments to prong position, one of them snapped off.

I have a sunstone arc welder that I’ve used for some repairs as I’ve been building the piece, but I’m TERRIFIED of damaging the stone if I try to add metal to the base of the missing prong. Is this a job for a laser welder? Or a non negotiable stone removal kind of situation? Any advice at all would be deeply appreciated.

For some context I’m an entirely self-taught hobbyist. No formal training beyond YouTube videos and occasional tips from other folks I’ve met along the way, with a completely different job that allows me to pick up the tools I need to do this kind of work casually. I’ve been at it about 14 years and I consider myself pretty experienced but obviously there are HUGE gaps in my training and comfort. The arc welder is a recent purchase and one argument for it was the potential for repairs that don’t require removing stones, but this particular stone is one i really don’t want to damage.

Time to admit defeat and contact a professional? I’m really proud of having built this piece entirely myself without training so it’s a hard pill to swallow…

3 Likes

Great question. I just wanted to welcome you and I look forward to the wisdom of the sages that will follow…

1 Like

Hi,

…was the ring a cast piece…?…if so, cast prongs can be less strong than fabricated prongs…something to note for future reference…

…the prong snapping off may have been due to some unforeseen metal structure weakness resulting from the cast…and not an error on your part…

with that said, it is a beautiful ring and you should be very proud of it!

if you are not yet comfortable doing this type of repair with your new welder, reaching out to a jeweler with experience in this type of repair would be my suggestion.