An apprentice's journey

I’m a traditional goldsmith apprentice from South Africa. I started in April 2020. This will be a visual journal of sorts of the pieces I’m proud of or in most cases just the acceptable to decent work. And an introduction of myself into the community. Comment and criticism are welcome and appreciated! New perspectives are how you get better

Everything is handmade by me. These are just a few to get the ball rolling and in no particular order. Will upload WIPs for the more interesting ones in time

His and hers wedding bands. Making these developed my filing skills more than any other piece I believe

When these got back from the setter the one claw had broken off. Being pink sapphires you can solder on them with no issue. What no one told me was that when you heat them up they go white for a while. My face was ghostly pale when I saw them go white. It gave my coworker quite the laugh haha

Modern look on a classic

The client just wanted an amber necklace as a gift for his wife that had just given birth to their first child. He didn’t have anything in mind beyond that and a few reference picture and said “Go wild” So I did. They both loved it

The only thing I didn’t make on this was the crucifix and the Madonna.55 hollow 7mm balls, 2 hollow 8 mm balls, and 2 solid 8mm balls (To get the weight feeling like his old one) took me all in all just short on a week to make it all. And a headache was had by all in the workshop with all the hammering in the dome making process haha

Dark blue sapphire with a double halo. I’d normally be instructed to make the halos have an airtight fit into each other but the client wanted an air gap. Still very nice albeit a little more tricky to make