Alternative to pitch as filler for flatware

A few years ago I reset knife blades in hollow handles using pitch bought in a semi-famous NYC silversmithing/jewerly supply house. I relied on the master of the house. The results were not positive. I find that the pitch (all pitches?) is hydrophilic and that the blade tang loosens up over time. In trying to repair the problem I heated the handle and found that the pitch, on getting hot, foamed up and putting that “genie back in the bottle” was frustrating. I restarted with new pitch, heating up to the point where I drove off all the moisture, refilled the handle inserting the tang and let cool off. That worked for a while but the same loosening occurred.

So, my question is how to avoid repeating the same mistake. What are better alternatives to pitch.

TIA Stephen

Epoxy

Two part resin.

In my youth when I was an apprentice I had to make what was called cutlers cement, this was for the silversmith who regularly restored silver cutlery, to make this cutlers cement I used to melt pitch in a large saucepan and add plaster of Paris, which was stirred into the melted pitch, then I would pour the pitch mixture onto a grid of old 12 inch files arranged on a steel flatplate which provided the silversmith with 12 inch long sticks of cutlers cement when the mixture had cooled.

2 Likes

There is something I am not following.
My experience with the pitch is that is has some water in it. I do not know how much nor where it came from. But when I heat it up it will start foaming (from steam) if I heat it beyond 212*. The knives are washed in water, = more water. So I am wondering what happens to the Plaster of Paris which reacts and hardens with water. Problem?
Maybe the Plaster of Paris is used as a filler and my concern is overwrought? If only a filler is there anything else that could be used?
Apologies if overthinking, but I have already spent too much time resetting these blades. I want to to it for the last time. Thanks,