Repair on Sterling Knife

I was given a sterling knife to repair. The issue is the “cement” that was used to connect the knife blade, tang and handle. Short of digging out the cement to solder this back together, what is the best way to move forward on this project.

1. How do I remove the cement?

2. What is the best new cement to use?

3. It looks like plaster of paris

Here in the UK the filling inside these knives is called cutlers cement. I used to have to make it for our silversmiths when I was an apprentice, I used to melt Stockholm pitch in a ladle then I would add plaster of Paris to the pitch until it became a cream. then I would pour it onto a stick mold made up of a line of old files sitting on a steel flatplate, when cooled this gave the silversmith 12 inch lengths of cutler’s cement, the silversmith would sit a group of restored knife handles in a box of wet sand and partially fill each handle before fitting in the knife blades. To remove old cement from handles he would first try heating with a torch to melt out as much filling as possible, then he would leave the handles in a paint stripper overnight. Here in the UK we used Polyclens paint stripper, which dissolves pitch based products. I hope this all makes sense, if not just Google Cutlers cement.

1 Like

What probably happened is that someone put that knife in a dishwasher, which gets hot enough to melt the cutler’s cement inside the hollow knife handle. The easiest fix is just to heat it enough to re-seat the blade, and then let it cool. If that doesn’t work, some of the cement must have escaped, in which case you’ll have to heat the blade until it can be removed, pack in some more cement, and replace it, using enough heat to melt the pitch - but not nearly hot enough to melt the solder.

1 Like

You might use a material called dop wax. It is a similar cement that you heat up. It is used to attach rough gem stones to a dop or stick for cutting.