Yellow Brass sticking to investment

Hi,

I’m pretty new to the casting world. Not a jewelry maker, but we are producing parts similar to typically jewelry with fine parts.

We have started working with Yellow Brass (using yellow brass casting chunks from Rio Grande). We wish to use this material as the parts we are producing will need to be soldered by our customers with questionable soldering skills. What we are finding is that the yellow brass tends to really want to stick to the investment, which is a bit of a challenge to remove. We can get it off in an ultrasonic cleaner, but then the finished parts have a pretty poor finish and color. (images below)

The images shown were cast at 1800 degrees in a 950 degree flask using a JR2 induction vacuum casting machine. Wax was steamed for an hour and burned out at 1350 over 3 hours.

Any suggestions as to what can be done to improve the finished casts?

I use Rio Grande’s Yellow Brass casting chunks to make parts like yours for bronze sculptures. I use an electric melting furnace and cast using jewellery vacuum casting equipment. I use a 12 hour burnout cycle with 4 hours at 732C (1350F).

I pour this material at 1040C (1900F). Try a hotter melt temperature?

Wow, I must have read your mind, I have a couple flasks burning out overnight that I intended on casting at 1900F to see if a hotter temperature would help. I’ll let you know how I make out with it.

Thanks for the input.

Yellow brass isn’t the easiest material to cast - or to solder. Its high zinc content makes it melt at lower temperatures than bronze, but the zinc also tends to volatilize as a white smoke when the brass is melted. This smoke isn’t good to breathe. Use a heavy flux coat over the metal as it gets up to temperature. Or better yet, switch to another metal that’s easier to deal with, like classic bronze (copper/tin) or silicon bronze (copper/silicon).