Workability of Gold

Well, I recently learned a “hard” lesson. I am fabricating a ring that will have bezel-set and flush-set stones. I decided to use 10k, but found it was so hard, that I had a terrible time even getting a round shape for the band. Once I started drilling holes for the flush-set stones, I gave up, and decided to use this metal in another way.

So I am moving up to a higher composition gold.

How does 14k compare to 18k in terms of workability? I don’t think companies share their specific alloy compositions (do they?). So are 14k or 18k golds from different sources equally workable?

I have a lot of experience working with sterling silver. Which gold is most like sterling silver, in terms of workability?

IN my experience, 18k rose seems to work in a similar fashion to sterling. Maybe it’s because they are both alloyed with copper?

Annealed gold, to someone who works primarily in silver, will seem hard. The only holds that come close to sterling in terms of hardness are maybe some high silver green golds, or high copper rose golds as it is the balance of silver and copper that lends hardness. Generally green golds are the softest of the lot. Gold alloys that come close to sterling would be 18k rose or green gold, or maybe a 22k yellow. The truth of the matter is gold is going to be harder than silver. I would reccomend a different method of setting the stone or using a higher Karat for the setting, otherwise you must learn to deal with the extra hardness. Hope this helps :slight_smile:

• Argentum Moon

You’re both saying 18k rose gold approaches the “softness” of sterling, and for this project, that would be a beautiful choice.

But how can I determine which sheet fabricator has a softer product, or do you think I’m safe with any of them?

Goldsmiths flush-set in gold all the time. It has to be do-able for me, just not in 10k (I’m curious what metals ratio that one is made up of).