Why Do My Bezels Keep Separating From Backplates?

Hello!

I’m a relative beginner. About 20% of the time, when I’m setting my stone, my bezel will separate from the backplate, usually just in one part of its perimeter.

Example:

sorry, hard to get a good shot with my phone.

The finished piece, for context:

I usually use thin bezels – 24 - 26g – and hard solder to mount them to a backplate.
Guesses I have as to what’s going on:

• Since I’ve usually reheated it since soldering the bezel, the solder has somehow “loosened” on subsequent reheatings and is a weak point.

• The bezel wall is too far from the stone and so when I “fold over” the top during setting, it creates weird pressure on the bottom and it pops.

• Some combination of the above.

Anyone know why this keeps happening to me and what I can do to prevent it? It’s so frustrating!

I would suggest that you may not have the bezel really flat on the side laying on the backplate and/or the backplate is not really flat. Be sure both are FLAT so you have a super clean contact. Just sounds like you are not getting solder all the way around the bezel/backplate contact area. Just my thoughts….

John

1 Like

@John4 Valid point! I make sure my bezels are totally flush with no light leakage both before and after I solder, though, so that’s not the culprit.

I’m wondering if certain areas do somehow get weaker upon reheating, though – no idea if that’s a thing.

Hi there
I think you may not have pulled you solder all the way through to the inside of the bezel. When you filed the outside it may have weakened to the point of coming apart. Bezel is pretty thin and it’s easy to remove material and weaken the joint. Maybe more solder on the inside so you have more metal in contact.

5 Likes