White out for heat retardant

I was told about a trick to prevent heat from melting a previous join and wanted to ask about it here. I was told you can use whiteout on a prior join and it’ll prevent it from melting. Once your new join is made, can you pickle it with the whiteout on there? I intend to use this on bezels to backplates since I often run into problems with my bezel joins melting. (I’m new to silversmithing and still learning). Can anyone offer some insight before I just jump into a purchase of chil gel or similar product if this is an adequate alternative? Thank you so much!

Hi Rachel,

As someone who’s melted his own share of bezels not so long ago, I’d suggest practicing a lot first. Heat sinks may help in tricky situations, but aren’t a substitute for good technique.

Heat from the backside of your new joint. Keep the flame moving. Watch the color of the metal and the solder. It can be awfully frustrating as you’re starting out, but eventually you’ll get the hang of it, and won’t feel like you need Wite-Out, or chill gel, etc.

Looking forward to seeing what you create.

Best,
Alec

1 Like

Hi Rachel,

White out is used as an anti-flux, as is yellow ochre. It helps to prevent your solder from flowing away from your join because it burns and makes the area dirty. So, it will work to prevent your solder from flowing, but it won’t prevent it from melting, only proper torch control will do that.

Pam

3 Likes

I agree that learning to solder correctly is best, but I have recently completed a couple complicated pieces with limited material that couldn’t be replaced. Hard silver solder was used throughout because the color matches the sterling best. Even though the solder becomes harder with each heating, I wanted to be sure there would be no oopses when soldering numerous elements to both the front and back of the base plate of a reversible pendent.