Where to buy small cabs and a thank you for cataract info

Hi Everyone!
So I’ve been smithing since 2009, and in the early years, while I was taking many classes, I was able to acquire a nice inventory of cabs and such. Now, when I finally get a nice slow-roll of custom orders and time to just make pretty things yo learn new skills, I finally need new stones, I’m unable to buy them!! (I have numerous physical issues, so I :heart: the pace I am able to operate at now - no complaints)
Because I’m not actively enrolled in any class (Covid) I’m not considered a “student” and I’m not fully engaged in a business so I don’t have a tax ID or city/state registration papers (I did one - it wasn’t worth the science or hassle - I never have made a profit and it’s ludicrous to shell out hundreds of $$ quarterly for “taxes” - that I will never collect. So I am blocked brim buying from Stuller (I need my Continuum!!) or Statchura (their selection of gems are EXACTLY what I need/want - even though I purchased from them in the past. I’m stuck with Rio for 925/gold (I can deal with that) but their gem quality is quite poor of late. My last order of moonstones - 3 broke before setting and 4 are unusable they are so dull and cloudy. Left me with 5.
I’d love to use more unique gems…open to suggestions about that too.

I’ve asked around on the ‘gram - and sadly no one is willing to reveal their sources….so I’m wondering if any of you can help point me in the correct direction. I’m in need of 4-6mm roundush cabs of many varieties.

By the way way, thanks for the cataract info - just learned I have some - surgery can waita few years but the info you provided here in the forum was GOLD! My eye doc has me ysing +4.5 readers instead of my over-compensated progressives for close work now. Big difference. Just gotta switch em out when I get up from my bench!

Thanks again for being so helpful!
Keep on smithing’
Lori

4 Likes