What to do with removed diamonds

I’m doing a good bit of remaking clients’ jewelry these days, or disassembling old gold and jemstone jewelry, having the metal refined, giving a credit for the metal and making an entirely new piece of jewelry for my client.

I’m ending up with lots of small diamonds and I don’t know what the heck to do with them! Clients don’t want them. Aside from some flush setting and tube setting of the smaller diamonds, I have no interest in using them. I’m even ending up with some 1/4-1/3 carat diamonds.

I have very little knowledge of diamonds, quality, etc. I can’t reuse them in anything except the individual client’s pieces unless I can figure out their quality.

What do I do with them? How do I get them looked at and rated/get a value estimate? How do I sell the melee?

Anybody have suggestions who I contact for answers?

Thanks!

Get yourself some gem jars and hold onto them for future projects. Donating them to a jewelry/gemological school is a nice gesture. But if they are real diamonds, they can simply be sold on eBay individually or in lots. Just make sure they aren’t artificial stones before selling them as diamonds :wink:

I am also a watchmaker (self taught) I’d order movements In the come in round plastic cases. Stack 4quarters together. About the size. I used those for loose stone storage. Multiple sizes too.diamonds sapphires, I kept everything LoL. Also scrap gold of all types. Came in handy when seeking findings etc. That or the stones didn’t have to wait for replacement parts to arrive.
Aaron

Thanks you guys. But, I’m asking how I find out if they’re real and their quality, in order to sell them or verify their quality if I put them into pieces of jewelry to sell.

Are there sources out there that will help me with that, or buy them? I don’t know how to verify. I can ASSUME they are real because they are coming out of solid gold, but that wouldn’t honest. And I cannot assume their quality.