What is your opinion on the best Jewelers Saw

I have been silversmithing for a few years now and I have the basic german 4" saw frame, I know that the quality of saw blades can make a big difference, but I was wondering if any of the more expensive saw frames really make a difference. There is the Knew concept one and Otto Frei has a really pretty one called GreenLion Studios saw frame. Just looking for input on whether it is worth adding one of these to my Christmas wish list. Thanks in advance for your input.
Bernadette Johnson

3 Likes

I like my Knew concept saw for making deeper cuts without having to back the saw blade out, however, I must admit that I still use an old basic saw 99% of the time. Maybe because I am so used to it, I can follow a line better (more accurate cuts) and I prefer the way it feels.

3 Likes

I use the Knew Concept saw frames now and I find them a joy to use, my favourite one is this one, which was one of Leeā€™s first titanium models.

7 Likes

I do have quite a collection of saw frames now, as I have tried and used many types as I have been piercing for over 50 years now.

9 Likes

I feel like I am always wrestling with my german version to get the tension as tight as I want it. It looks like that might be easier with the Knew concepts one, is that the case?

1 Like

That is absolutely amazing!