Wax work and casting techniques

Hi,

I’m new to the jewellery community and was looking for some advice.

I am trying to make gold caps for teeth and I am struggling with which wax is best too create a wax mould and which casting process is the most efficient.

So far I have used green ferris wax and melted it onto the plaster mould of the teeth and used a dremel tool to shape it however I feel like there must be an easier way to produce more standardised caps. I have also used red mould a wax but found that did not hold shape enough.

The casting techniques I have tried are lost wax casting and delft clay casting, neither of which were entirely successful.

Please help me !

All advice regarding this topic and just jewellery in general is highly appreciated!

Thankyou,

Pippa

I have a related question. I’ve been pulling textures of natural objects with a 2 part silicone mold material, and I’ve been experimenting with mixtures of waxes. I’ve been using an aqua colored casting wax from Rio, and I’m sort of satisfied with it although it tends to be more brittle than I’d like. Does anyone have advice for MIsspippa and me about the best wax to use?

What exactly are you trying to do, Pippa? Are you trying to cast your own gold crowns, which are essentially artificial teeth that are glued to the ground-down stub of a natural tooth, or are you making “grillz”, which are ornamental coverings for perfectly good teeth? These are two entirely different sorts of things, so it’s important to differentiate them.

The dental world has its own ecology of products that’s entirely separate from that of the jewelry world, usually sold in smaller quantities for more money, but more specialized for particular tasks. Here’s a guide to some of the choices in waxes: Side-by-side comparison of Dental Casting Wax | Dentalcompare.com

1 Like