Troubleshooting Mokume Gane, post-patterning. Flaking Top Layers

Hello All,

Problem: face layer of copper on mokume gane sheet ends up flaking, tenting, tearing off in places.

I am very new to this; my third billet, I made a billet of 8 layers of copper, and 7 layers of fine silver. The layers started approx. 20 gauge, with the top and bottom copper layer, a bit thicker, 18ish.

I reduced with hot at first, then around a quarter inch, i began rolling. I stopped at about 10 gauge and began patterning. I used drills and ball burrs, while annealing and hammering down, then where near flat, rolled out to about 16 gauge.

Things were generally going great, except at the very end. I’m having issues with the final layers of rolling out, annealing, bending/forming.

I notice that top layers, towards during reduction, appear to thin out faster than the middle layers.
I imagine this is due to a few possible factors:

• (unsure) i understand that using a not-heavy enough hammer during hot work, can cause the layers to thin unevenly? is this true/applicable?
  • oxidization during annealing. I use boric acid/borax/methanol and batterns, but i tend to still get a lot of oxidization with the copper, meaning cleaning, which costs copper via pickling/abrasion
  • not annealing enough during the final rolling? (from 18-22, usually with 1 or 2 annealings during)

Any tips on the end phase of working with mokume?
For cleaning the face after annealing heats, i have been using Sparex. I have acetic acid 10%/salt, sulfuric acid, hydrogen peroxid, and muriatic acid handy. Is there a better/gentler use? Or should i use strong-as-possible pickle and work quickly? Should i avoid pickling all together?