The power of the putty

I’ve been using this for a couple years now and I have to tell you it is a super time and frustration saver. This is a kneaded eraser and you just mush it up and pack it around and mostly under what you’re working on, because of gravity and all that. It sticks and it catches and it stays and it’s maybe $2. You can set your diamond you’re setting right on it and press them in a bit and they stay right there. A tiny piece in the tip of a tweezers will also grab gems out of things or filings.
Enjoy. SD

3 Likes

Thank you for the tip! I have been looking for an easy way to hold work in place.
Is this it?

Best,
Lois

Yes but it’s more for keeping gems from falling and getting lost. You still have to clamp things down. I do have a few tricks for that too if you’re interested

Yes! I would love to hear your tips. Right now I use Rio Grande’s Jett Set Basic to hold pieces in a vice while setting the stone. Thank you.
Best,
Lois

I use the stuff they sell for putting stuff on school bulletin boards the same way. It’s very like kneaded erasers, and useful for holding pieces on a surface when the back is no longer flat (such as when your piece has a pinback or bail, but you need to hold it while you work on the front). It also can hold a tiny stone while you place it, etc.

Noralie Katsu

Yup. That’s very similar. That stuff is a little stickier. The eraser is a little different. I’ve tried both and they each have purposes. The eraser is easier to get off of things especially from behind or around settings.