Back to Ganoksin | FAQ | Contact

Soldering Help Needed - Issue with Borax

Hello! Wondering if anyone can shed some light on an issue i’m having while soldering.

I use a Boric Acid Powder/denatured alcohol mix prior to soldering, with a paint brush applicator. The solution clumps just as it hits the metal.

I use a butane torch to heat it, it bubble and becomes dark and sticky, dirtying the joint. Then my solder doesn’t flow properly.

I work in a garage for now, in Toronto so the weather is colder. Is environment temperature an issue? Is it the Borax mixture?

Any help would be great. Thank you.
T

1 Like

I use boric acid and denatured alcohol in a pickle jar with a wide mouth and keep adding alcohol when it evaporates (always put the lid on after dipping your item). Make sure you stir it so it is thoroughly mixed and then quickly dip your piece and hold it over the jar to drain off. I find that will protect the silver but I also use paste Handy Flux and apply it to the piece where I am going to add my solder chips so they stay in place while I heat the piece up. I hope this helps.

1 Like

Boric acid and alcohol is more often used as a barrier than as a flux for the joint. It is commonly used to protect diamonds from burning and prepolished parts of a piece from oxidizing while soldering. To apply boric acid as a barrier, mix it with alcohol, dip the piece while it is cold, then set a flame to it and let the alcohol burn off. This will coat the piece in a film of boric acid.
A paste of borax and water is more generally used to flux the joint. Handy Flux is basically borax and water with some other additives. If you want to go old school get a borax cone and a slate and grind it to a paste with distilled water, rather like grinding Chinese or Japanese ink sticks.
Or use one of the commercially prepared, bottled fluxes. Which is best depends to an extent on which metals you usually work with.

3 Likes