Solder that won't melt

Why does my silver solder sometimes refuse to melt?
Has anyone else experienced this?
Irene in very hot Perth

1 Like

I’d bet there’s something, some contaminant, grease, oil, oxide between your metal and the solder that’s keeping the heat from from moving from the metal to the solder. It could be either on the metal, or on the solder itself.

Alec

It’s not that I’m new to soldering. It’s just that sometimes I seem to have a piece of wire solder that just won’t melt.
I actually tested the solder (after I’d ruined my piece) , medium silver solder, together with a similar piece of hard solder on a piece of sterling, and the “medium” melted quite a few seconds after the hard, in fact only when the silver started melting.
I just wondered whether anyone else has had similar (horrible) experiences.
Thanks for your help, Alec.

1 Like

It must be silver wire instead of silver solder.

It certainly acted like silver wire. I was helping a club member to solder, and on reflection, it could be that the solder was tarnished, as she did tell me that she hadn’t used it for ages. But would it have taken such a high temperature to melt?

Yes Irene! I experienced this a great deal in my early days of making jewellery. The reason was usually due to the metal and/or solder not being clean enough for it to flow, i.e. oxidised. Poor heat control was the main thing that plagued my efforts, such that by the time I had the area hot enough, my flux had already vaporised and the joint and solder were oxidised. The tiny pieces of solder would either not melt at all, or they would just ball up and adhere to one side of the joint. Poorly fitting joints can also be part of the problem.

A combination of things improved my soldering, and included:
Ensuring the joint was a good fit
Changing my flux from borax to Prips
Building up a good firecoat with the Prips
Better heat control
Using a solder pick to apply the solder at exactly the right time