Silver properties / bracelet with "flexible lock mechanism?"

Hey Guys! Hope y’all are having a good new year so far!

I’m having a question regarding a braclet lock mechanism, and overall silver properties.

Ive been casting my silver jewelry for about 3 years now… And i’ve been using mostly normal mechanic lock mechanism in my jewelry. However i’ve been wondering about pieces like the one below.

it’s almost as if the bracelet is strung up like a spring, pushing against the other site making it a strong lock… It’s a bracelet my girlfriend has from Dansih designer george jensen.

When i think about properties of my silver jewelry, it dont like being bend too much and just stays in the place that i bend it, and if being work hardned too much, then in the long run can result in becomming brittle and worst case crack.

it seems like the material of this bracelet have like some “Metal memory” of a more stretched state which makes it a good lock since it keeps pushing against the other side!

Not sure if i have explained this in a good manner, but hope you guys understand what im trying to say and can elaborate a bit more on the topic!

best regards William

1 Like

William, the short answer is thst you are seeing the difference between cast silver, and silver which has been forged, rolled, hammered, etc. These operations fundamentally change the structure of the metal so it is harder, stronger, denser, and springier than simple cast metal. Work hardened metal will easily give you the properties you see in this bracelet, which was almost certainly not cast, but was forged and fabricated.
Peter Rowe

4 Likes

I have been making these for years with no problem. They are rolled, forged and soldered…Rob

4 Likes