Shop set up

hi there, i am a newbie to jewellery making. over the past few years i have bought stuff i thought to set up in my shop (basement). things like lapidary tools and casting tools, along with my jewellers desk. does anyone know in what order your shop be set up? for example, my jewellers desk then drill press then soldering station then, grinders etc…,.,…recently retired, mary…

1 Like

Let what you make drive the design. I have rebuilt my shop a number of times as a result of moving. When we moved into our current house 22 years ago I built a U shaped shop so that everything would be in reach. It was efficient, but I never moved. As I have gotten older, and need to move more, I opened up my shop to make me move from station to station. I posted pictures of my shop right after I cleaned it a couple weeks ago. Look at them to see my set up. Keep in mind that it is in part to make me move and I am also left handed…Rob

1 Like

great suggestion Rob. i think i’ll need to unbox everything to remind myself of what i have and then either lay it out somewhere or re-box and label everything. once that is done i’ll have an idea of what storage units/table (more of) that i’ll need. to start setting up! at least i have a better idea of which direction to go. i live in an old farm stead. Mary…

Shop layout is critical, more so depending on the shape and space you have. Brother Rob has the benefit of a large space to move about in. For years my shop was essentially 5’ x 7’. Think of three standard sized bathtubs setting side by side.
In that space I had a 60" x 24" bench with a small degree of storage overhead, a soldering station with pickle underneath, a stand for my Genuine Made in India Economy Rolling Mill, and Presto-lite torch chained to the wall beneath the bench. I polished at a different location.

The size of the space limited me doing almost all my various processes on the bench.