Sand casting for cabinet knobs

I have been approached by an artisan hardware mfg. to design cabinet knobs. I have zero experience with sand casting which is how they cast the knobs. I use lost wax method for all of my castings. I am looking for advice! How much detail is lost with sand casting? How much shrinkage should I anticipate? What material is best to provide as a master for the pattern? Thank you.

1 Like

Jan,

Talk with the mfr. as to what they want or do not want in the way of design for THEIR sand casting process. There are a number of “sand casting” processes, some allowing more and others less “original design requirements” and some processes are more capable of detail than others. IF the company is a “traditional” sand caster, the “drawability” of the master (overall shape, how the design is developed on the piece, etc.) all come into play. The mgr. should be able to give you some parameters as to their requirements and limitation in masters they are able to use. If they already are in production with knobs of other artists, look at them for design “requirements” and if no knobs are currently being made by them, look at other items they make to get an idea of detail, undercuts (an often/usually a BIG problem for sand casting but not always), detail, etc.

Just some thoughts……………

John Dach

Thanks John,
I will definitely speak with them just trying to gain some knowledge so that I ask the right questions! They have mfg. many knobs and they have quite a bit of detail but would describe most of that detail as “soft” and sort of rounded. Treading carefully so as not to find myself in a difficult position.