Rolling D section wire in a rolling mill?

Hello,

I have a durston rolling mill with the D section and rollers on it. I am new to rolling silver, so I wanted to ask some expert people for the little details that matter when they go to make the section or half round wire for a ring band.

What things besides rolling the wire, down to a square, annealing it, and then rolling it in the D section wire should I know? Is there a certain dimension that you like to start with proportionate to the finished D section?

I’ve tried it a few times and I end up with a very sharp edge on the sides. Is that normal? Should I expect that and just file that down?

Thank you so much!

1 Like

Hi,

…remember to totally DRY your metal before putting it in the rolling mill…!…to avoid causing rust…! (i am suffering
from rolling mill rust…ugh!)

re the flashing/ sharp edges…it sounds to me like there is too much metal…in too little space…the excess metal is compressing down…and out the sides…?

also, as an aside…you do not neccessarily have to close down the rollers all the way…you could stop prior…and have a higher dome…(something i discovered while using my half round drawplates…

julie

2 Likes

Brennan,