Repair of overly worn bangle

tiffany twist bangle that has been worn every day for 40 years. i have repaired this twice, in different spots. replacement has been suggested, but rejected due to sentimental value. i am thinking about adding a thin lining to reinforce, but worried that it will change the size. should i line and fabricate another twist?

Hi,

could you post a photo? (using first icon at bottom right to upliad from your phone)

julie

Hi,

i have no experience with this…i am just curious and thinking out loud…

hmmm…did it break at a previous weld joint…?…looks kinda jagged…has it “sprung” open on its own…?…or was it stretched open after it broke?

i wonder, if after 40 years of use, along with the twisting used to make it, if it has become very work hardened and springy…?

aside from repairing the broken joint. i wonder if annealing and then just a bit of tapping with a rawhide mallet on a mandrel would be beneficial… i am wondering if built up stress is an issue?

curious to hear thoughts…

julie

2 Likes

sprung i think, a solder joint is near by. i imagine this has been worn day and night for those 40 years. but when i repaired it twice, i annealed and shaped it with a rawhide mallet as you suggested.

1 Like

If you anneal it, there may be enough stretch to cut out the broken section, solder it back together and then stretch back to the right size. Before you do any of this, figure out what the right size is. Run it tightly up a bracelet mandrel and mark the spot where it stops. You can also just measure the inside circumference with a cloth tape. Good luck…Rob

2 Likes

in the last year i have repaired it at 2 different spots. 40 years of wearing day and night has weakened
the whole of it. the broken section goes together perfectly, why should i cut it out? it is not hollow if that is what you have assumed. i think i need to somehow reinforce the of the inside