Removing Patina from a finished piece

Hi everyone, I am new to Ganoskin. I have a question. After you patina your piece, and then want to remove some patina for highlights, what method do you use? I have been using a buffing wheel and zam, but its not detailed enough. Tips greatly appreciated.

1 Like

Hello,
You didn’t mention what metal you are working with or what patina you are using. A little more information would be helpful.
Dee

Sterling silver, I either use black max or liver of sulphur.

If you want to completely remove LOS and you don’t have any heat sensitive embellishments or stones on the piece you can heat it and the LOS will burn off. If you just want to remove some of the LOS from high areas and leave it in the recesses, try using pro polishing pads from Rio (item 337020). Or, a Sunshine cloth will work too. I don’t use Max Black, so I don’t know if these techniques will work on your pieces with that patina.
D

I currently use polishing pads, and I use a buff wheel with Zam… I dont want to remove it all just highlights… I was just hoping there was a better way that what I am doing

There are multiple techniques to do things in jewelry making. If you’re lucky, there will be more suggestions. Have you tried searching the archives?
D

1 Like

I use good old fashion fine steel wool. Then a sunshine polishing cloth. I get any bits of steel wool pieces out with a too brush and dish soap. Works great for me.

3 Likes

Could you clarify what you mean by “not detailed enough?”

It removes patina from the grooves where I want it, for example If I stamp, I want patina in the stamp pattern. Cant figure out how to get the piece shiny but still have patina in the stamp pattern