Refraction liquids

What is the best liquid to buy to view cracks in rough gem stones so they can be faceted correctly?
Thank you in advance

I’m a beginner, but I will share the result of my mostly untested research regarding the specific stones I’m interested in cutting.

The liquids have different refractions just like the stones, thus, my list starts with the lowest refractions and the refracations go up as you continue reading.

The last two liquids on this list are expensive and dangerous. Initially I thought it would be convenient to use just one liquid to view all clear stones, but when I found out the cost of Gem Refractometer Liquid, it made more sense to me to use the cheaper liquids if possible, therefore, I have matched the liquids to the stone refractions in this list.

You save and reuse the liquid. On my first try, I found out that the residual dirt on my stone that wouldn’t come clean, will come off in the liquid, so I learned to cut the surface of the stone to remove residual dirt before using the liquid or else I’ll be reusing dirty liquid.

When I list multiple liquids, they are individual possibilities, not mixed together:

opal - water, olive oil, mineral oil, oil of cedar

moonstone, agate, calcedony, sunstone, rose quartz - clove oil, methyl salicylate

quartz, labradorite, beryl - cinnamon oil (if beryl, the cinnamon oil must be cassia)

topaz, apatite, andalusite, prehnite, tourmaline, kunzite, peridot, chrome diopside, tanzanite, idocrase, kyanite - methylene iodine

garnet, spinel, chrysoberyl - Gem Refractometer Liquid

1 Like

Hi Betty,