Question regarding the foil baking soda technique for removing tarnish on sterling silver electroplate

Hi,

I have a question regarding the technique used for removing tarnish from sterling silver electroplate, that utilizes:

hot water
baking soda
salt
foil

after immersing a Gorham electroplated candelabra in the above solution bath, for about an hour, i pulled it out to see the results.

the candelabra went into the bath a shiny, mostly dark grey black color

after the bath, the candelabra was a matte light grey color

this matte grey coating easily flaked off when i polished with a muslin buff and greystar on my flexshaft.

i am assuming chemically, part of the tarnish dissolved and was the brown coloration left on the foil, and the other part of the tarnish remained on the surface of the metal as thus matte light grey layer…

I am curious to to what this matte layer is, and what the brown stuff on the foil is…

julie

I used to work as a liturgical and restoration silver smith. I also own and cherish some lovely Gorham silver. I am so sorry to tell you this but you have likely destroyed a Gorham candelabra. At this point it will need to be sent to a professional silver restoration person to be re finished and re-plated. Chemical dips like Tarnex and aluminum foil with TSP or salt baths should never be used on solid or plated silver. Here is a link to Jeffery Herman’s site. He is a BFD in the silver restoration world. When you open the link scroll down to the Polishing and cleaning silver. There you will find of Chemical Dips and Aluminum Foil Techniques. Also plated surfaces are super thin. Like microns thick. Any chemical strip or abrasive that is coarser than a good cream silver polish will remove the plating. And while you are searching online, type in Jeff’s name and go to images to see the most awesome collection of vintage hammers and stakes.