Prepare for 3d print, with CAD skills

Hello all,

I wish you all a happy new year, with new plan and new hope!

This year, I plan to learn 3d print. I’ve learned FreeCAD. I will use it as my CAD software. Here are my question and hope to have some advice from your guys.

Do I have to go to some 3d print training? Or, just buy a 3d printer to try myself?

I don’t want to buy a 3d printer right now, actually. I want to get some sense, or try some printing first. After that, I will know which printer to buy; and how to organise it. I searched some info. It seems there is no way to get some sense of 3d printing, if you don’t join a course.

Best regards!

Chimi

We talk mainly about jewelry on this site. There are people who design and print jewelry models that will later be cast into a piece of jewelry or art metal. Is that your intention and the reason for your question? You don’t necessarily have to take a course for any of what we do. Many of us, myself included, are self taught. You might look for a maker space in your area. Three D printing has been a hot subject in many of them. Good luck…Rob

1 Like

Hello Chimi,

A maker space might be your best option. You’d have the opportunity to try the machines they have onsite and to talk with other members about equipment.

A quick search brought up this link for the UK

Good luck!
Pam

Thanks Rob. I have a silver workshop. I hope to use 3d print for some of my projects in the near future. Thanks for your suggestion.

Thank you, Pam! That’s what I am looking for.

I have a silver workshop in London. I hope to combine 3d print and silver making for some projects in the future.

1 Like

I’ve been where you are now trying to understand 3D printing and am still working it out, slowly.