PICKELING after soldering stainless steel!

Hello everyone!
After I solder pieces of stainless steel for jewelry together. Should I and does it help to pickle. I would use brand new pickle solution. Also what type of tongs should I use stainless or copper. I don’t want my stainless steel piece to take on a copper coating

Thanks for everyone’s help and suggestions.

Lary1047

1 Like

AFAIK, there’s no need to pickle stainless steel. The oxide that develops on heated steel is only a very thin layer and will polish away easily. Just boil the piece in water to dissolve the flux.
Of course, there are many different stainless alloys, so it’s best to read up on the particular properties of the one you are using.

2 Likes

It is totally dependent on the heat used, I used to work as a sheet metal welder for Stainless.
And if you heat the stainless to red in contact with Oxygen you will get a very refractory blue oxide that needs something like “whink” or similar to be removed.
We used a different substance but they all contain Hydrofluoric Acid “HF”, a really nasty piece of chemical.
As long as you keep it below red or keep the oxygen out, this is not an issue.

3 Likes

Thank you for the information. I am using 316 and with a propane torch, so the heat is not that high.

Thanks

Lary