Perfect ring join ready for soldering?

Hi all, I’m a newbie both on the forum (and to silversmithing!) I was hoping that I could glean some wisdom from you all. Apologies for the probably basic question… I did try to do a search but couldn’t find anything.

How do you make a perfect ring join so the ends meet perfectly? I find that with thinner bands (1mm or so) I always tend to have a little gap at the top and bottom of the join while the middle bits are flush. Then end up filing away but still can’t seem to even them out. Is there a trick to this?

Also, I tried to make a ring with a thicker band today (D-shape 2 mm) and while the ends perfectly matched I didn’t have the strength in my fingers to push the ends together as my teacher has showed me (to push one end under the other then switch and the tension closes the gap). Is there another way to push the metal together to close the gap? I tried doing this with half-round pliers but really marked and scratched my ring all over.

Thanks for helping a newbie out!

1 Like