Back to Ganoksin | FAQ | Contact

Pearly Karpel brand Enamel from Israel

I’m teaching myself enameling (I’m a beginner) and bought, through Etsy, a sample set of enamels from “Pearly Karpel “. I’m having a terrible time with them as they won’t wet. It’s like they are coated with wax or oil. I can’t find any information about them online so I wondered if perhaps any of you might know anything about them- good, bad or informative.
Thanks

They melt as expected in the kiln- turning to smooth glass in bright colors when cool, but they won’t wet- water droplets just bounce around the powder. I also have realized that most of the samples (200 or so) are leaded, but do not say so. Nor is there any mention of lead anywhere I can see. But I know that the majority have lead because of the few that state “lead free” on the lid. I hope someone out there has worked with this company or at least knows something about them.

The failure of water to wet your enamels reminds me of a science experiment I saw on TV a long time ago. The guy sprinkled lycopodium powder (tiny plant spores) over a beaker of water and poked his finger deep into the beaker, which came out dry. The fine powder prevented the surface tension of the water from being broken. I got some from a pharmacy and tried it, and it worked.

So how fine are the enamels ground?

Even assuming this isn’t the case with your enamels, perhaps you could try adding a tiny amount of dish washing liquid to your water, as in a drop in a liter of water, and just some of that water into your distilled. You don’t have to fire the enamel, you just want to see if it will wet.

Or you might try Pam East’s ClearNamel wetting agent:

https://www.metalclaysupply.com/ClearNamel-p/56680.htm

Hope this helps.

Neil A