Pallavi Gandhi - Jewelry Gallery

Studio 605
New Delhi, Delhi
India

Jewellery is the intimate medium through which I document my life’s experiences.

Our multifarious human emotions colour our senses.
Objectivity is transcended and transformed, bringing into play the subjective fact:

the shaping of an experience.

We affect our lives and our environment constantly with our perceptions and intentions.

Not what I saw, but how.
Not what I heard, but how.
Not what I said, but how.

These experiences start my design dialogue.

The inherent duality of metal: its simple purity and its intrinsic dynamism to lend itself to innumerable textures and finishes, makes it the perfect ally to my storytelling ways.

I hope the wearers will enrich this tradition and add their own experiences to it by engaging in and continuing the dialogue.

Artist Bio
I completed a 2-yr diploma in jewellery design & manufacturing in 2001 from Jewellery Design & Technology Institute, Noida.
And thereafter, taught jewellery design for about 6 years (at J.D.T.I.), a very fulfilling experience that I thoroughly enjoyed.

Being a studio jeweler, each piece has been conceptualized and handcrafted by me.

I started this venture 3 years ago and had my first exhibit in a group show of artists in Tank Gallery, U.K. in 2010, and now mostly sell through exhibitions and fairs.

Materials: sterling silver
Dimensions: 4 X 3.5 cm

In this piece, I’ve tried to capture a narrow, busy lane of Delhi’s jewellery quarters, Beadonpura, in Karol Bagh. Typically, the workshops are at the ground level and the living quarters above. A mesh of cable wires hang overhead weaving into the thin veil of dusk, a screen between the grinding rituals of daily life and the heady transcience of romance. In the morning the lovebirds would have flown.

Photo credit: Pallavi Gandhi

Tuesday’s Woe

Dimensions: 5 X 4.2 cm