Oxygen / Propane Torch Problem - What Am I Missing?

Hi everyone,

I’ve been using a Smith Little torch with disposable propane tanks and an Extreme Oxygen EX-05 oxygen generator in my home studio for about six months now. I’ve never had any major problems with it, but today my flame keeps blowing out on my when I introduce the oxygen. I haven’t used the torch for three days; it was working just fine before this. The problem is currently extremely consistent – happens each time I try to make a flame.

Here’s a video of what happens when I introduce the oxygen.

I’m a beginner when it comes to troubleshooting torches, so I’m not sure what variables I should be looking at. I replaced my propane tank with a new one in case it was low. I switched out torch tips from a #6 to both #5 and #7 with no difference. I bled all my lines a few times. I rarely have my oxygen generation pumping more than 2 LPM of o2. I don’t know what the propane is at because I don’t have a gauge on that regulator.

Anyone know what’s happening to me here? I suspect the answer is obvious, but I don’t know what it is! Any help appreciated – I have a few projects due to clients this week and am up a tree.

Thank you!

2 Likes

Have you tried starting the generator in advance, maybe 20 minutes before using it?

1 Like

No, quite the contrary. I usually only fire it up about 30 seconds before I use it. And I always keep the o2 valve on my torch closed while it’s “charging” – I checked with the generator company early on and they said that was fine. It hasn’t been a problem to date, but maybe some variable somewhere changed and it suddenly is?

The video is a big help. Looks like you have your oxygen pressure too high. Either that or you are opening the oxy valve too far and too quickly. Just crack it and then gently continue to open it.

Jerry in Kodiak

2 Likes