Over or under polishing? help!

Hey guys, first time posting on here! I’m a first year apprentice in Australia and I’m struggling to get a really nice finish on two 18k yellow gold rings that I have just resized. The jeweller I work with is out of action atm as he recovers from eye surgery so I’m turning to you good people for some advice.

This side of both shanks have these pretty uniform lines going across the metal, sometimes there is lines going in two direction making a sort of criss-cross pattern. My emery finish was all good (or so I think, but what do I know!) so I’m guess i did something wrong in the polishing stage. This hasn’t happened to me before or if it has its been pretty minor and a little bit of a touch on the rouge has been all it needs to go away.

Basically all i need to know is, am I over or under polishing, or is it something completely different? Am I going too hard on the tripolli, not hard enough on rouge or is my technique wrong?

Any help is much appreciated!
p.s. sorry from the shitty quality photo

Check closely after polishing with tripoli to see if this pattern is evident …I would suggest that either your tripoli wheel or your rouge wheel is contaminated with grit… those striated marks are indications that one of your buffs is creating the issue

5 Likes

I agree. Look for some sort of contamination on one of your wheels. The one that you used right before you saw the problem is the likely culprit. Clean it out with a rake or just the tang of a file. Get it good and clean and then recharge it with whatever compound you were using. Good luck…Rob

2 Likes

Hi,

what is your emery process…what grits did you use?

what buffs did you use?

that is a fairly crisp edge…

julie

2 Likes

thank you so much! mops are cleaned and rings are looking a lot better now. thanks again

2 Likes

brilliant, never knew i needed to clean them. thanks so much for the tip!

2 Likes