Organizing ToDo list

Hello all,
I’ve been learning, practicing and making for 2 yrs, and am ‘all over the place’ with what I want to do. Scattertasked. I chunk goals into wide categories: rings, pendant, earrings; of course each has infinite paths down which I merrily go. Most of the time that’s ok as I’m allowing myself to do this with ‘the journey’ and production values in mind more than the outcome - other times it feels erratic, unfocused, unproductive.
Thanks for any macro organization tips for an overlarge large “oh I want to do this too” list…

3 Likes

Rather than focusing on the end, take some time to identify and then concentrate on learning specific skills and techniques. Many are shared by all types of jewelry and others are more specific. From this will come finished pieces of jewelry that you feel comfortable with and ready to go out and find something new to challenge yourself by. I have been doing this for 50 years adding new techniques, tools and materials as my curiosity has dictated. I tend to get obsessed. That can be a good thing, but also a waste of time and money. I have a lot of tools in my shop that I haven’t touched other than when I first bought them. You might buy a good book. Tim McCreight’s Complete Metalsmith is a good one. Read, reread and read it again and let it guide you as a list of skills to learn. Mine copy is dog eared from being used. You might identify one or two pieces that you can make well and quickly and then start to sell them. This will give you confidence to keep going and some money to feed your habit, so to speak. Good luck…Rob

9 Likes

Thank you. The focus on techniques makes sense to me. I have McCreight’s book and love it. I heard about that book here and it is a good manual as it is not focused on a recipe but focused on cooking skills… if I can borrow metaphor.

1 Like

Jackie,