OK, who is hoarding all the treasure coin models/molds people?

I’m not a professional jeweler, just more of a hobbyist for now and recently I have been curious about treasure coin replicas. I live near the 1715 wrecks here in Florida and when I was a high school kid in the 90’s I used to go to Kempf’s jewelers and buy small hand fulls of the broken or small badly oxidized silver coins from the 1715 fleet for very little money at that time. The full size coins are really cool though and recently I wanted to make my own replica which leads me to this question first:

What is the deal with treasure coin replicas being so saturated in the market but I have never seen a wax mold or wax model for sale? You can’t throw a rock without hitting a treasure coin replica for sale in probably a 1000 jewelry stores in Florida and yet I never have seen molds or wax models for sale. Do people hoard these or did each store buy one from another and then make molds? I bet there is a whole book to be written about that! LOL

Not finding any I decided to make my own replica from scratch. I used photos of both sides of an Escudo. Then I made black and white “alpha” images of them to use in a 3d molding program I’ve been learning called “Zbrush”.

In Zbrush, I made the coin 3d and added a rope around it plus some small square embellishments. Then I had it 3D printed with a quality Poly Jet printer… cast it in Argentium… and gave it to my wife.

1 Like

Nice Rick

What do you want for a Wax shipped to me in new zealand

Les

1 Like

Perhaps I’ve misunderstood the question, but why not simply buy a coin and mold it yourself (or have another jeweler do it)?

Hi, thanks for the compliment/request! I think we could easily work that out. I’m returning home in a few days and I’ll private message you asap ( I’m on a phone right now and can’t really type).