New resin wheels

This is a question for the lapidaries among us. My 6" resin wheels have worn out. At least the backing is showing through and I suspect that they will be worn out soon. I bought them about 10 years ago from Kingsley North and they are their standard resin wheel. They have served me well and, to be honest, I abuse them by polishing silver and steel tools on them as well as lapidary. Before I buy another set of standard wheels, is there anything else that works better? I am thinking NOVA wheels, but I have no experience with them. Any thoughts are appreciated…Rob

1 Like

Update…I actually looked at the wheels on my arbor and they are NOVA. I must have upgraded from the package that Kingsey North was offering at the time and forgot about it. I called Kingsley North. They looked back in their records and I purchased the arbor and wheels in 2015, so I guess that they lasted about 6 years…Rob

While I’ve never used Kingsley North’s wheels, Rob, I think that 6 years of life that includes your abuse sounds pretty good. I’ve worn out a couple of DP wheels on my Pixie after 8-10 years, and I’ve had my Genie for less than one year.
— Gary

I have always been very happy with Kingsley North for lapidary equipment and supplies. They take the time to answer questions and even called me back to tell me when I bought the wheels after they had a chance to research it. I will new wheels on order because I use and abuse them daily…Rob

Hey Rob,