Natural gas and oxygen

I just purchased a G-tech natural gas booster. Do I have to use oxygen with it to get a hot flame for fabrication?
Is compressed air an option?

JS

Hello Jan,

This is Ed at G-TEC and the answer depends on the torch you have. Smith Little Torch, Meco Midget, Hoke, Swiss Torch all are meant to be used with oxygen but torches like the National or High Heat torches are designed to work with compressed air.

Either way with high pressure natural gas you will get much better performance from your torch.

Thanks for being a G-TEC customer!

Ed Howard
G-TEC Natural Gas Systems
ehoward@gas-tec.com

What type of torch do you have?
A prestolite type torch uses ambient air,
if the torch has two lines, one fuel, one oxygen,
yes you need oxygen.
You can get a medical oxygen concentrator
that will work, or a tank of compressed air.
I have no experience and do not know
of anyone using a compressor.

Look at glass working torches that use air. Carlisle Machine has several. I have tried my Meco on street pressure NG and O2 as well as compressed air. The results weren’t satisfactory. I suspect that the same will be true for the Little Torch and Hoke. Talk to Paige Tools, they may have some ideas…Rob

I’ve used natural gas for fabrication and casting for decades. The pressure is the key. Here in Northern IL, the pressure is very good. If you want higher heat people switch from natural gas to acetylene in this area. WHat you will need is a check valve. It is all part of the safety issues we all deal with.

A few comments hopefully helpful or of interest re: several of the products mentioned.