My Homemade Ball Vise

Hello Everyone,

I’m new to the forum, have lurked for a few years but I’ve taken the plunge in deciding to be a professional jeweller and so thought i’d sign up properly.

I thought I’d say hello and show you a picture of the engravers vise I made last year. I couldn’t afford a good one, and I hate buying cheap tools so I decided to make my own. I’m an amateur machinist and have access to a lathe and mill so I did it for fun. It wasn’t a great economic decision as the process took about 6 months!

Next up is a pneumatic engraver and a load of engraving tools. I’m also planning to build a faceting machine and then will learn to facet my own stones.

Thanks for all the advise you didn’t know you’d already given me. Online forums are what I love most about the internet.

Alex

6 Likes

Please keep us posted on your progress. I did a lot of research on pneumatic engravers and settled on Steve Lindsay’s Air Graver. His tools are pieces of art. That being said, unless you already engrave, it would serve you well to learn to hand engrave first. At least in the Lindsay system, almost all the tooling that you buy for hand engraving can be used with the pneumatic engraver. There are many videos online that show you how to make your own pneumatic engraver. I would still look at Steve’s gravers and sharpening system if you decide to go this way. Good luck…Rob

1 Like

Hi rob

I’m going to be making a Lindsay style graver. I like the elegance of that particular mechanism, but using GRS quick change collets. The collets aren’t crazy expensive to buy and I really can’t be bothered to make a load of them so I don’t mind basing my system around those.

I’ll probably make a load of sharpening templates too. To start I’ve just been grinding my own gravers freehand under a microscope with a diamond wheel, but I like the idea of the repeatability of the template system. Either that or I’ll make something akin to a grs style powerhone fixture.