My Estate - After I Pop My Clogs

I really would appreciate the members of Ganoksin-Orchid putting their thinking caps on and finding me a solution to a problem,

I’m just over 70. In my 20’s I studied as both a psychotherapist and as a jeweler - one Is heads and the other hands. I retired from therapy some 10 years ago and successfully donated my library and monographs. Since then I’ve continued to make and sell a lot of “art jewelry” and I’m still going strong with two workshops, one for dirty work like casting and the other more of a studio.

My life expectancy is what? Another 10 years perhaps and I want to continue to work until I drop dead

When I do eventually pop my clogs what should happen to all my tools, equipment and materials? I can’t expect my partner to manage the sale of all this stuff - he knows little of the craft - and to be honest we are wealthy and the money is of no real consequence. The value of all my metals and stones is about $100,000.

When my great uncle died his watchmakers workshop was just shut up and everything basically rotted away (even though I unsuccessfully asked for his lathe) and I don’t want this to happen with my stuff. It can have a life after me I hope.

I’m about to draw up a new will and the workshop will not be included separately - everything goes to my partner - but it would be helpful if I could leave him instructions for its liquidation.

What do you, my colleagues, think about this? Remember that the finances are not important! Donate? Where? To whom?

I don’t lie awake worrying but I don’t want this to be a burden for others.

Can I persuade all of you to put on thinking caps and come up with ideas?

Is there a school that would benefit from your tools and supplies? Even if they could auction things they have no need for in order to fund stuff they do need.
You could ask that your donation be sold at auction to fund scholarships or bursaries.