Back to Ganoksin | FAQ | Contact

Mohs - On A Scale of One to Ten

Although gemstones are hard substances, they aren’t indestructible.
Some can be ruined by contact with certain chemicals, while others
break easily. Many are susceptible to surface scratching, which can
ruin them.

The harder a gem is, the more difficult it is to scratch. If soft
gems are used in jewelry, they need to be in settings that will
protect them, and worn with care.

Gems are usually rated on their hardness according to the Mohs
(rhymes with nose) scale. Mineralogist Friedrich Mohs developed the
scale in 1812. The Mohs scale ranks minerals from one to ten, with
one being the softest and ten the hardest.

Mohs used the following minerals in establishing his scale:

1. Talc (soapstone)
2. Gypsum (alabaster)
3. Calcite
4. Fluorite
5. Apatite
6. Feldspar
7. Quartz
8. Topaz
9. Corundum (ruby and sapphire)
10. Diamond

Each mineral can be scratched by itself or any above it. None can be
scratched by any below it. For example, topaz can scratch quartz,
but it can’t scratch corundum. Talc can be scratched by everything,
and nothing but diamond will make a mark on diamond.

Most of the commonly used gems have a Mohs hardness of 6 or greater.
The hardness of some gemstones may vary slightly, depending upon the
direction in which they are scratched. Hardness may also deviate
according to where the stone was found. Gemstones may be assigned a
range of hardness, such as 5-6 for hematite, rather than a single
number. Hardness is frequently abbreviated as the capital letter H
followed by a number, so that agate is described as H 7.

The numbers on the scale classify minerals only by their hardness.
That is, topaz is harder than quartz, which is harder than feldspar.
It does not show by how much each gemstone is harder. Fluorite has a
rating of 4 and topaz has a rating of 8. This doesn’t mean that
topaz is twice as hard as fluorite because its rating is twice as
high. It means only that topaz is harder than fluorite. Newer scales
used by gemologists organize the gems according to degree of
hardness. However, the Mohs scale continues to be the most
widely-used ranking.

Some comparisons to everyday items may help make the rankings easier
to understand. Substances with a hardness of 2 or less may be
scratched by a fingernail. A copper coin will scratch anything
ranked at 3 or lower. Window glass has a hardness of 5 and may be
scratched by most A steel file will scratch all
substances up to 7 1/2.

Quartz is the most common of all minerals and is an element in many
including amethyst and rock crystal. Quartz is found also
in rocks, dirt, and sand. This means that most dust contains
particles of quartz and therefore has a Mohs hardness of 7. Nearly
all gemstones can be scratched by dust. For this reason, it is very
important to never rub dust off any gem when cleaning it.

Following are the Mohs hardness of some popular gems.

8 1/2 Chrysoberyl
7 1/2 Aquamarine, emerald
7 Amethyst, tourmaline
6 1/2 Peridot
6 Moonstone, opal, turquoise
5 Lapis lazuli
4 Malachite
3 Chryscolla

The organic gems, which are not minerals, are all quite soft.
Because of their variety, pearls may range from 2 1/2 to 4. Amber
and ivory are softest at 2 1/2. Glass imitations of gemstones are
usually 6 or less.

While the Mohs scale has its shortcomings, ranking minerals on a
scale of one to ten is simple way to determine the degree of care
and protection needed by

****Sandra I. Smith, Writer ****